The Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (HSA) is a non-profit and charitable organization lead by a volunteer board of directors, with a mandate to present the province’s history and heritage. 

23rd Manning Awards for Excellence

23rd Manning Awards for Excellence

The 23rd Manning Awards for Excellence were presented March 7th, 2018, recognizing heritage supporters from across the province for their outstanding projects which preserve and present the heritage of the province, and actively engage the public in this history.

Seven projects were recognized with 2018 Manning Awards:

Community Category:

  • The English Harbour Arts Association for the English Harbour Arts Centre, and their project preserving the built-heritage of the All Saints Anglican Church, and using the restored building as a thriving centre fostering the arts and traditional culture of the Trinity Bight area
  • Marystown Heritage Museum Corporation for the Marystown Heritage Museum, and their work presenting the heritage and shipbuilding past of Marystown and Mortier Bay, and in engaging the community in this rich history.
  • St. Gabriel’s Hall Inc. for the St. Gabriel’s Hall Event Centre, and their commitment to restoring the St. Gabriel’s Hall to its original historic design and continuing its cultural role in the community.
  • Mizzen Heritage Society for the Heart’s Content Regional Centre for the Arts, and their work restoring the historic Heyfield Memorial Church, and continuing their many projects preserving Heart’s Content’s unique history.

Provincial Category:

  • Trails Tales Tunes Festival Committee and festival founder Shirley Montague for the Trails Tales Tunes Festival, and their 10-day festival showcasing the culture and heritage of the province through guided group hikes, family experiences, traditional workshops, and musical performances.
  • Artist Leslie Noseworthy for his Preservation of Lightstation Heritage, and his personal project creating original paintings of the lightstations in the province, successfully capturing this rapidly disappearing heritage so it may be shared with future generations.

Outstanding Heritage Supporter:

  • The award for Outstanding Heritage Supporter was presented to archivist Linda White, in recognition for her great personal contributions to preserving the history of Greenspond.  

Also presented during the ceremony were the 2018 Dr. Paul O’Neill Scholarship and the 2018 Heritage and History Book Award.

In attendance at the 23rd Manning Awards ceremony were: event patron, His Honour, The Honourable Frank F. Fagan, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, who was accompanied by Her Honour, Mrs. Patricia Fagan; past patron of the Manning Awards, The Honourable Edward Roberts; Minister of Veterans Affairs, The Honourable Seamus O’Regan; MP Gudie Hutchings; MP Yvonne Jones; MHA Mark Brown; MHA Derrick Bragg; and Marystown Mayor Sam Synard and Deputy Mayor Gary Myles. They were joined by members of the late Bill Manning’s family, Manning Award recipients and their guests, representatives from cultural heritage organizations, along with HSA Board and Emeritus members.

The Manning Awards for Excellence:
The Manning Awards celebrate the work of individuals, community groups, and historical organizations who successfully present the history of our province in outstanding ways. The awards are divided into categories, depending upon the geographical reach of the history they present: Community, Provincial, National, and International. A fifth category, Outstanding Heritage Supporter, is reserved for individuals who have made great personal contributions to the presentation of Newfoundland and Labrador's heritage.

The Manning Awards were created in 1993 as a tribute to the late Bill Manning, for his outstanding contribution to the preservation and development of the National Historic Sites of Canada located in the province, and for involving local communities in the process.

2018 Dr. Paul O'Neill Scholarship

2018 Dr. Paul O'Neill Scholarship

2018 Design and Story Contest Winners

2018 Design and Story Contest Winners