Bill Manning


The Manning Awards for Excellence in the Public Presentation of Historic Places were created in 1993 to recognize and celebrate the work of individuals, communities, and organizations in preserving and presenting this province’s history and heritage.

The award is named for the late Bill Manning, a former Parks Canada Superintendent of Newfoundland and Labrador’s National Historic Sites. During his career Manning strengthened and expanded the sites in the province with a vision of greater community involvement.

Nomination Process

We are currently accepting nominations for the next Manning Awards presentation, to be held in Spring 2016. Nominations must be submitted no later than December 31st, 2015.

If you would like to recognize an individual who has made great personal contributions to the presentation of Newfoundland and Labrador's heritage, please use the following form:

If you would like us to recognize a group, project, or community with a Manning Award, please fill in the nomination form below:

Award Recipients

Over 100 projects, people, and organizations from across the province have been recognized with Manning Awards. We encourage you to visit these sites and enjoy the imaginative presentation of our historic places.

To read about past recipients, learn about projects and view photos of past award ceremonies, please click the button below:


The Manning Awards are held bi-annually in the spring and are honored with the patronage of the Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The awards are divided across various categories, depending upon the scale and reach of their projects:

  • Community
  • Provincial
  • National
  • International