HSA Recognizes Retiring Board Members

The Historic Sites Association is led by a volunteer Board of Directors made up of community leaders who lend their professional skills and knowledge to lead our organization in the preservation of NL's cultural heritage.

The HSA held their AGM on May 18th, which saw the retirement of three dedicated members who completed their terms on the Board of Directors. These members have had a lasting impact on the organization, and their contributions will not be soon forgotten.

board retiring - joan.jpg

Joan Ritcey

Joan joined the Board in 2005 and became 1st Vice Chair in 2008 and Chair for 2009 and 2010. She then served the Executive Committee as Past Chair for 2011 and 2012.  Joan’s contributions have gone beyond the Executive to include volunteering for many HSA Committees- she was a member of the Hawthorne Cottage Committee from 2006 to 2011, the Conferences Committee for 2006 to 2007, the Book Awards Committee from 2006 to present, Bartlett Lecture Committee from 2008 to present, Strategic Planning Committee in 2014 and the Heart’s Content Committee from 2014 to present. Her 11 years with the Association have seen many changes, and her impact will not be forgotten. Her valuable insight into the cultural fabric of the province will still be benefiting the Historic Sites Association well into the future.

The Honourable Edward Roberts

Edward began as an honourary Board Member to the Historic Sites Association and served an important role in the 2009 Bartlett Celebrations Steering Committee.  Edward officially joined the Board in 2011 and has served on the Hawthorne Cottage Committee and the Finance Committee. He has also offered valuable insight into legal, financial and cultural discussions, and aided many Board decisions. The HSA will miss Edward's inquiring mind and the diplomacy he brought to meetings of the Board of Directors.

Terry Bishop Stirling

Terry joined the Board of Directors in 2011 and quickly connected the organization to current history academia in the province. She has been an invaluable member of Book Awards Committee and the Manning Award Committee. Her connections to the students and programs at Memorial University have benefited the HSA greatly, as she had provided essential advice on grants and initiatives that have helped keep the HSA active in the academic community.