The Manning Awards: Nominations Open

new manning banner.jpg

The Manning Awards for Excellence in the Public Presentation of Historic Places

Bill Manning

Bill Manning

Created by the Historic Sites Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (HSA) in 1993, the Manning Awards recognize and celebrate the work of individuals, communities, and organizations in preserving and presenting this province’s history and heritage.

The awards honour the late Bill Manning, former Parks Canada Superintendent of Historic Sites for Newfoundland and Labrador, who realized that the preservation and presentation of our heritage needs the involvement of the local community. The award is under the distinguished patronage of His Honour, the Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Nominations are currently being accepted for the next Manning Awards presentation, to be held in Spring 2016. We encourage you to nominate worthy candidates. Many heritage supporters work tirelessly to keep our stories alive. Help us recognize and celebrate their work.

Nominations must be submitted no later than December 31st, 2015.

If you would like us to recognize an exceptional individual, group, or community project with a Manning Award, please fill and return the nomination form below:

To recognize an individual who has made great personal contributions to the presentation of NL's heritage through various projects, please use the following:

Nominations are categorized into levels of historic significance: community, provincial, national and international. In 2014, the Outstanding Heritage Supporter award was added to recognize individuals who contributed significantly to the presentation of NL's heritage.

To learn more about the Manning Awards, click here.
To view past Manning Award winners, click here.